Department of Theology

“Catholic theology, taught in a manner faithful to Scripture, tradition, and the Church’s Magisterium, provides an awareness of the Gospel principles which will enrich the meaning of human life and give it a new dignity.” (Ex corde ecclesiae, 20).

Faithful to the Christian message as it has come to us through the Church, our mission is to introduce students to Catholic theology as an exercise in “faith seeking understanding.”  Mindful of its ethical obligations to the Church and to the world, the Department also seeks to foster ecumenical awareness and concern for social justice and to prepare student majors for teaching, parish work, youth ministry, and graduate studies.

Benedictine College has been recognized for excellence in faithful Catholic education. The college has been recommended by The Cardinal Newman Society in its publication, The Newman Guide to Choosing a Catholic College.

Majors and Minors


  • Jamie Blosser, Professor and Chair
    Ph.D. Historical Theology, 2009 (Catholic University of America)
  • John Rziha, Professor
    Ph.D. Theology, 2006 (Catholic University of America)
  • Richard White, Professor
    Ph.D. Theology, 1995 (Marquette University)
  • Mark J. Zia, Professor
    S.T.D. Dogmatic Theology, 2005 (Pontifical University of the Holy Cross)
  • Matthew Ramage, Professor
    Ph.D. Systematic Theology, 2009 (Ave Maria University)
  • Andrew Salzmann, Associate Professor
    Ph.D. Theology, 2011 (Boston College)
  • Jeremy Sienkiewicz, Associate Professor
    Ph.D. Systematic Theology, 2011 (Catholic University of America)
  • Andrew Swafford, Associate Professor
    S.T.D. Theology, 2012 (University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary)
  • Matthew Muller, Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. Historical Theology, 2017 (Saint Louis University)
  • Aaron Riches, Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. Theology, 2010 (University of Nottingham)
  • Fr. Meinrad Miller, Instructor
    M.Div. 1993 (Saint Vincent Seminary)
  • Mikail Whitfield, Visiting Instructor
    Ph.D. Theology, 2018 (Ave Maria University)
  • Fr. Ryan Koster, Adjunct Professor
    M.Div. 2011 (Pontifical College Josephinum)
  • Deacon Dana Nearmyer, Adjunct Professor
    M.ED. 1997 (Mid-America Nazarene University)

Contact Information

For more information, please email Dr. Jamie Blosser.